A blog about my journey through the weight loss jungle, and the all the stuff that goes with it on the way to a healthier me.

Running behind – again!


Hello!

So I’m really overdue for a post here, sorry!  Between getting ready for a move, kids stuff, PTO stuff and just stuff I’ve let it slip.  Well here I am back again and 2.4 lbs lighter!  That is a total of 9.6 lbs down.  I’ve been on my own for weighing food and doing well.  It is hard, and it would be much easier if I could get on the ball and plan ahead better; but my life is full of last-minute events.

I said I would do a review of the BodyMedia arm band so here it is.  I really like it… OK I’m addicted to it.  I hate not being able to wear it and see how many calories I can burn.  Yes, you can wear it in bed, I hardly notice it. No you cannot wear it in the shower (really).  It tracks steps, how long you sleep – it even knows when you wake up during the night even if you don’t get out of bed. That is scary.  I guess I wake up a bunch at night for a minute & never remember. As long as you track your food on the system, it will tell you how many calories you consumed vs. how many you burned during the day.  Addictive!  I will expand on the activity tracking to say it even knows when you are doing moderate or vigorous activity!

BodyMedia Arm band w/ clip of the website

This image is of the armband, an image of the website and the display clip you can buy – I don’t have that display clip.  There is also and iPhone app on which I can record food and add new foods.  I would love the ability to sync wirelessly to the app but maybe in the future.

The only thing I don’t like about this system is the food menu.  There is not a lot of regular food or normal food on here.  The entire Jenny Craig menu is on here, but I had to add things like sugar snap peas and green peppers.  That’s what I get for not eating the Jenny food I guess.

The charge lasts a long time. Usually what I do is sync it while I’m in the shower and then I add my food each night.  Sometimes I add food during the day on the phone if I remember.

All in all I love it. Is it expensive? Yes. Was it worth it?  I really think it is.  It’s the mini me on my shoulder (or arm) telling me to get up and move.

Here is a link to the system, you can decide for yourself.  Click here to learn more.

Disclaimer – Neither BodyMedia or Jenny Craig has asked me to review the product and I haven’t been paid to review it.

Comments on: "Running behind – again!" (1)

  1. […] Exercise, good food choices, one day at a time, extra movement will all get me back on the road I want to travel. I had to take the Body Media Band off for a while. I wore it so often I ended up with a contact reaction on my skin, partly due to how dry it was over this winter.  I’ll be putting it back on this week. If you are wondering what the heck I’m talking about – see this post. […]

Leave a Reply

