A blog about my journey through the weight loss jungle, and the all the stuff that goes with it on the way to a healthier me.

Week Two Recap


I’ve been trying to decide if I want to write about my last week or write a review of the armband I’m wearing, mostly because it wasn’t a good week.  I decided that I should write about my week because if I didn’t write about the downs as well as the ups what good would it do anyone?

In my last post I wrote about the convention I went to. I forgot to mention what a kick-ass convention it was.  I was  able to see a lot of my mentors in person which was amazing.  I won’t go over the decisions I made about food again, you can read that here.  Even though it was only week two and I had lost weight I kept thinking I could do this without Jenny Craig right?  Why can’t I do this on my own?  Part of this was the jealousy of cooking meals that I couldn’t eat (at least not yet).  Then after a week I finally snapped out of it and realized the following;

a. I joined Jenny Craig because I have no idea how or what I’m eating.
b. I don’t like to cook. I cook but only because I have to. My sister pointed out that its more that I don’t like to prep. She could be right.
c. This is helping me control my calorie intake and portions.

I was just being emotional about food.  Imagine that! Me, emotional about food!

So along with the kid stresses, life stresses and food stresses knowing that I have a meal waiting for me that is healthy and the right size took some pressure off.  I ended up with another 2.4 lb weight loss for the week, which is a huge win in my mind, even if I did have off days. Which of course means, if I can lose weight with the crappy stressful week I had – anyone can!! Woo!

New goal: be better at sticking the food (duh) and get 5,000 steps a day. I’m not sure how I’m going to do that with all the driving around I do, but I’ll figure something out.

Next blog… towering walls of candy!

Comments on: "Week Two Recap" (4)

  1. Towering walls of candy! Oh, my!! Well, my week has gone OK. I still refuse to step on the scale at the house, but I promise to on Sunday. I did step on the scale at the doctor’s office and I’m actually 5 pounds heavier than I thought! YIPES! She did a BIA on me. I don’t know exactly what the initials mean but it measures muscle mass, bone mass, water in muscle cells vs. water in fat cells, and BMI. My BMI was much higher than I anticipated (a whopping 42!) and she made me commit to drinking 70 ounces of water a day because my water levels were terrible. That was Tuesday. I’m also now no sugar, no yeast, and no dairy and maybe more to come after additional testing. And she moved all my supplements around – when I was taking them, how much I was taking, and even removed a few. We shall see. Now to get the exercise in without pain. Wish me luck on that one. Congrats on the 2.5 pounds! That’s awesome!!

Leave a Reply

