A blog about my journey through the weight loss jungle, and the all the stuff that goes with it on the way to a healthier me.

Week One…


First of all thank you so much for all the great comments, love them!
Second, one of the comments I received was about the veggie soup – my bad I haven’t made it yet, but I’m posting the recipe below.  Feel free to add other free veggies to the soup that you like. This is actually the original Weight Watchers Veggie Soup. I love this soup and it last a whole week if you want it to.  Here is the link to the soup recipe – this is how I change it; double the recipe and instead of beef I usually just use light low sodium vegetable broth.  


Next, I did have a weigh in yesterday – my first week. I lost 2.4 lbs. Yay! Not bad considering the only exercise I got was the marathon cleaning I did over the weekend and the fact that I had two drinks on Saturday.  Of course I would have loved more but its a rational amount to lose. 1-2lbs should be my goal. Happy? Yes. Think I can do better? Probably.  How? Not sure yet. 
I will say that the armband I’m wearing is really cool and tracks tons of stuff. I’m going to have to do a blog post just on reviewing that neat little gadget.  I love gadgets and this one is easily addicting.
My goal from my counselor (who is really nice) is to really focus on the food and the steps I’m taking.  My goal is 5,000 steps a day.  This is hard to do during the week because I sit at a computer all day.  Would I love a treadmill desk?  Of course but I don’t think my company will reconfigure the office for me. A new adding step hint: stop consolidating tasks.  I’m a HUGE fan of multi-tasking. 

  • How many things can I bring upstairs at the same time? 
  • How many bags of groceries can I bring in at once? 
  • How many of my kid’s toys can I carry? 

Get the picture? Do you do this too?  STOP. Yes it takes more time to do these things, but not really that much more. More steps are key! Take 5-6 trips up and down the stairs, bring in 1-2 bags of groceries and take multiple trips.  On the way in the door do arm curls with each grocery bag!  Park further away from where you are going (bonus – no dings because no one parks there). Get up from your desk and move every hour. It’s all the little things that I hope to build on to get me to those 5,000 steps a day consistently.  Let me know when you do and let me know your Ups and Downs. Let me know how you like the soup and what tips you might have for getting in more steps.  Have a great day!!

Comments on: "Week One…" (2)

  1. Kudos on the weight loss!! I’m afraid to weigh myself, but I will at the end of this week. Promise. 🙂
    BTW, I can’t seem to get the FB login button to work. 😦

Leave a Reply

