A blog about my journey through the weight loss jungle, and the all the stuff that goes with it on the way to a healthier me.

Ups and Downs


Thank you to those who read my first blog.  I’m excited about doing this and sharing it with others.  

Yesterday I checked in at Jenny Craig (and on foursquare to make sure everyone knew) and received my new BodyMedia armband.  For new members its pretty pricey so I can see where many may not choose it. For a Lifetime member it was 90% off and since I need all the tracking I can get I took it.
(disclosure – I don’t work for BodyMedia or Jenny Craig and they didn’t ask me to review their products).
So I have to wear this all the time even when I sleep. It will keep track of steps and somehow keep track of calories burned. I enter the food I eat at night and it will give me a summary of Targets vs. Actual.  Once I get used to it I’ll post a screen shot of the summary.  If you want to know more about it – www.bodymedia.com is where to go.  Its very comfy and I don’t even really notice its there.
Even though I didn’t get to the gym yesterday I ended up spending almost 6 hours cleaning my house and getting the summer to fall switch over done.  Lots of lugging things up and down stairs, laundry, dusting, etc. Ladies – it counts!  If you are going to clean, clean hard or vigorously, every little bit helps.
The flaw in my plan was that my sister did come over for drinks, so those will count against me, but hey I drink socially so I’ll have to work them into my plan somehow.
I’m off to go food shopping for the mountains of veggies I need, yogurt and of course kids stuff.  I’m planning on making a free veggie soup that lasts for days and I can have whenever I want.  If you’d like the recipe let me know and I’ll post it here.
As promised – measurements. I’ll do this once a month whether I like it or not.

Upper arm – 11.5
Chest – 42.5
Waist – 43.0
Hips – 48.0
Leg –  22.0

Comments on: "Ups and Downs" (3)

  1. Anonymous said:

    Proud of you Maureen!! Mb xx

  2. Anonymous said:

    Congrats on taking the first step it is often the hardest

  3. Good work! And I'd LOVE the recipe for the veggie soup. Especially if it's gluten free. I think that is going to be one of my drastic diet changes, along with cutting out sugar and yeast again. This may be all I can eat! Ha!

Leave a Reply

