A blog about my journey through the weight loss jungle, and the all the stuff that goes with it on the way to a healthier me.

My First Post


This is my first post on a blog – ever.  I have commented on blogs, helped other write and distribute blogs, but never written on myself.  This blog is going to be about my weight loss – journey to health.  I will be keeping track of my success, failure, stupid moves, good moves, weight loss (and hopefully not gain).  
This is scary for me; putting all this out there in public but I want to do it and maybe it will inspire someone else to do it – chain reactions can be good!  I’ll be making decisions based on what I have learned about myself over the last 42 years and the advice of people who are a whole lot smarter than me when it comes to nutrition and weight loss.
Have I tried to lose weight in the past? Yes and I have lost the weight, I just let it gradually come back on.  Here is my list of used to’s.  I wear these used to’s on my sleeve like I need people to know how good I was at being healthy & that I know what the heck I’m doing.  I will never use them again.
I used to run cross country track in high school.  I used to be on a swim team. I used to work full time at a gym and weigh 125 lbs.  I used to be able to eat and drink whatever the heck I wanted.  I used to be skinny, single, and really confident.

Now, I am a divorced, Mom of two, with a job, responsibilities, PTO, homework, dance classes, cleaning, etc.  All the things that keep everyone busy and not thinking about themselves or weight loss.

What triggered my decision to lose the weight this time?
Health – I had a couple of health issues crop up that got me thinking about it again.
Clothes – my clothes from before my last weight loss are now tight *sad face*.
I’m finally fed up with not feeling good about myself.
 My oldest said she hoped I’d be around to be a grandmother (ouch).
I want this to be the last time I have to start over.

What have I started doing?  I already drink a lot of water.  I already eat 4-6 smaller meals in a day – that is embedded from my gym (Get In Shape for Women) that I used to belong to – love them!  New – I joined Jenny Craig – many people will have opinions about this, but I feel it will work for me to get my eating under control, and re-learn portion size and hunger ques.  I am a lifetime member from being there in 2004.
What is my starting point?  OK this is the embarrassing part where I tell you all the ‘big’ numbers.  I will be measuring myself this week and will add that later.  I’m 42 years old.  I am 5’8” tall and weigh 203.5 lbs.  My BMI is 31 (according the scale I have) which is the obese range.
Stay tuned, I’ll try to get on here at least twice a week maybe more, but will update my stats once per week and my measurements once per month.  Thanks everyone! Feel free to comment on any of my posts.
Disclosure – I do not work for GISFW and they are not paying me to promote them.
Comments on: "My First Post" (6)

  1. Anonymous said:

    Hi Maureen,

    bravo for putting yourself out there. I struggle to stay at my weight at 150 lbs and I am 5'8″ also. (my all time best weight was 136 lbs and I'd like to be at 145 lbs for the rest of my life.) I topped out at 162 years ago and vowed never to advance past a size 12. I am currently a size 10. I don't feel I'm meant to be anything smaller than an 8 and that's OK.

    the thing that worked great for me recently was using an iPHONE app that had me put in my meals every day. I whittled from 1600 calories a day to 1400 and lost a few pounds of weight without changing my diet.

  2. Hi there,
    Thanks so much. I do actually have an IPhone app that goes with the new armband I have (see 2nd post). I love gadgets and its been fun learning how to use it.

  3. Way to go Maureen! I applaud you for putting this out there. It's good to see you doing this for yourself. You can do it!

  4. Congratulations on the blog! You are awesome and very brave to put this out there Maureen.

    You are such an inspiration that I will committ to being your first “chain reaction.”

    Keep up the wonderful work.

  5. Michele thank you so much!! I'm so excited for you! If I can figure out how to do it I'll post a link to your blog on here too. 🙂

  6. OK, count me in, too. At 5' 1.5″ and 170 pounds and encroaching health issues, this is a much needed challenge. My diet changes are likely to be somewhat drastic to address the health issues, but it's the EXERCISE that needs major addressing as well. I have a feeling that lifting fork to mouth doesn't qualify as exercise….

Leave a Reply

